I Love a Parade

Now, I’ve got that song stuck in my head.  “I love a parade”.  The bad part is that is the only phrase I remember and it keeps going around in my head.

It was such a nice day yesterday.  60 degrees and the wind died down.  I got up and got around because today was the last day my friend’s daughter Jordyn is barrel racing.  I want to make the last ride of the competition.   I know today will be the day to get “the picture”.  The arena is pretty dark but with the time change and a bright blue sky I’m hoping the light will be better inside the building coming in through the windows.  Awards have been won the first two rounds of the competition and hoping for good results today.  We take off with the big truck pulling the trailer.  We drive to Ft Collins to the CSU equine center.  Lots of horses and trailers today.  Jordyn won money the first two rounds so hopefully today when all is said and done her overall average over the three competitions will win her a buckle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The horses ran well today and there was no trauma except a bra getting caught on the saddle horn and ripped off.  Times didn’t put her in the money today and no buckle was awarded but two out of three runs won money so hurray for Jordyn.  Great job.  Lots of practicing, expense and dedication to this sport.  A scholarship in the making!!

I run home and rescue the pot roast in the crock pot.  I bought a roast from John and Denise who bought the steer and fed the steer and watered the steer in zero weather sometimes.  Wow, is it tender and great tasting.  Nice knowing how the beef was raised.  Oh well, I throw it in the fridge.  No time to eat it.  Eaton is having a parade!

I drive over to Denise’s (next door to where I was an hour ago).  We hop in the car and take off to Eaton to see the Parade of Lights.  Oh boy, this should be great.  I love small town parades.  Tractors and vintage fire engines and snowplows and front loaders and semis all loaded with beautiful lights.  How crowded will it be?  When will we need to get there?  Well, no problem there.  We get there 20 minutes before the parade starts and we could have driven right up to where it passed but we parked a couple a little bit away and walked a few blocks up to the parade route.  That was nice.  Lots of houses decorated in Eaton so was a nice walk.  Just another benefit of living in a small town.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL!!

 

 

About pbodwell

Master Gardener; Nat'l Award Winning Photographer; Garden Writer; Artist - art books, print maker, hot glass, wire jewelry designer; sometime quilter; new homesteader; bee keeper; very crafty; Baseball fan, enthusiast, and researcher; all things vintage
This entry was posted in DIY old house, small town, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love a Parade

  1. larry121339 says:

    Merry Christmas Patty and wishing you many great photos in 2018. Larry Ehemann

  2. Joan Buxman says:

    I love your blog. That picture of Jordyn where she’s approaching the barrel from the left and the light is hitting them perfectly is perfection. Just stunning. And how in the world do those parade people get so many lights on one vehicle? It’s the most wonderful time of the year!! (now I have THAT song stuck in my head)

  3. Diane Shaddai-Frey says:

    Merry Christmas Patty. I enjoyed your essay and pictures, what a joy you are in my life such a bright spot. Lots of love and happiness in the new year. Diane Shaddai

Leave a comment