Bats and Frogs

Finally, the rain has stopped.  Wow, that was a long stretch of torrential downpours.   I think it rained 43 out of 46 days.  I head on up to the homestead.  The sky is blue and there are big white fluffy clouds.

There is a farm I pass on the way of here and every week I watch as the burros and horse have less and less land to stand on.  Most of their farm is flooded.  They live right next to the Poudre bridge.  Luckily the loaf shed and their house are on dry land.  This time up I notice the animals now have more of their land back.  The water is starting to recede and evaporate.

I am sitting at the desk and I’m hearing something scratching around in the wood stove.  Hmmm, I hope it’s not a mouse.  Hmmm, maybe I hope it is.  If it isn’t a mouse, then what is it?  When I first got the house and cleaned it there were mouse droppings everywhere.  Upstairs window ledges, I mean everywhere.  See second blog I ever did about finding mouse carcasses in the cellar and a newly fresh dead mouse.  I haven’t seen one since then.  I like having the cats around!!  I grab the flashlight and approach the wood stove.  Apparently waiting to see if the sound will go away doesn’t work.  Something is still scratching.  I put on my hazmat suit, vinyl gloves, garden gloves and mask.  I cautiously open the door hoping nothing jumps in my face.  Hmmmm, I shine the light in the stove and see and hear nothing.  I close the door.  I go get a mousetrap and set it with peanut butter.  I again approach the stove.  I open the door and dang it, the mouse trap goes off in my hand.  It flings peanut butter off to somewhere.  Oh man, I need to find it.  Nothing like inviting the mice to come to a banquet  I finally find the glob of peanut butter and put it back on the trap and reset it.  I open the door and lay it on the floor of the stove.  Nothing runs out and grabs me.  I wait. I still hear scratching.  HAHA, I will be victorious.  Soon I will hear the trap go off.  I wait.  One hour, two hours.  Hmmmm.  I decided to get adventurous again and grab the poker.  There is some wood kindling on top of the rack so I really can’t see underneath or t he back so I take the poker and dig around a little.  I don’t see anything.  All of a sudden something drops onto the wood.  Oh gross, what is it?  Well, whatever it is, it is not moving.  I doesn’t try to attack me.  It’s something dead.  Oh joy, it’s a bat.  Remember the story from a few months ago (see previous blog bats and frogs).  OK  I need to make sure I don’t touch the thing even though I have my hazmat suit on.  This require a shovel and a bag at the ready so as not to touch the stupid thing.  The trap still sits with the peanut butter.

I head out to the garden to check it out.  Oh dear.  My poor tomatillo plants.  Something has really gone to town on it.  It’s barely a stalk.  The other tomatoes and peppers look like something is chewing on the leaves a little but they are blooming and producing fruit.  It’s too bad because that was the second tomatillo and it was full of blooms.  I head off to the nursery to see if they have another.  Pretty soon it will be too late.  When I get to the nursery they don’t have any left.  I debate on whether to fill the hole or not.  I head over to the pest department.  I get some diatomaceous earth to sprinkle on the leaves.  It is organic and harmless for the most part.  It is crushed up matter that has sharp edges and when bugs land on the leaves it is sharp and cuts them.  I also get some nolo bait for the grasshoppers.  They are really thick.  They are very small right now so hopefully I can get them under control while they are just hatching.  I can’t believe how many there are.  With every step it’s like a cloud of grasshoppers.  It’s the plague of the locusts.  Well, all the veggies are 50% off and I can’t resist filling the hole so I get a tall Sweet 100 Cherry Tomato to fill the hole.  It’s got some blooms already so there still may be time.

IMG_1172-1

Poor Tomatillo

I head on back and pop the tomato in the tomatillo hole and get out the earth powder and the nolo bait.  I cut the end off of two plastic growing pots and dig a little hole.  I put the plastic pots in the holes and put some nolo bait in them.  If it rains then the bait won’t be ruined.  They will be feeding stations rather than sprinkle the stuff in the gardens.  I take the diatomaceous earth and sprinkle it all over the tomatoes, peppers, and the vining plant bed (squash, pumpkins, pickles).  The vining plants are really blooming up a storm.  I already have some little acorn squash forming.

One good thing about the rain is it brought frogs.  I haven’t seen any mosquitos so hopefully that’s why.  I like frogs better than mosquitos.  They are everywhere.  They love the garden.  There must be at least half a dozen living in the garden beds.  Do they eat little grasshoppers?  If so there is a feast out there for them.  There are some in the front garden as well.  As I poke around and do some weeding they are hopping out of my way.  I don’t hear them sing at night though.  What is up with that?  I love hearing frogs sing and croak.

 

 

 

 

About pbodwell

Master Gardener; Nat'l Award Winning Photographer; Garden Writer; Artist - art books, print maker, hot glass, wire jewelry designer; sometime quilter; new homesteader; bee keeper; very crafty; Baseball fan, enthusiast, and researcher; all things vintage
This entry was posted in DIY old house and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

