It’s all about the weeds

 cropped-img_5671-1.jpg

Well, I’m heading back up to finish my weed project.  I took Saturday and went to a weed management for small acreage class.  It was all about noxious weeds but I’m sure I have some of those too so was beneficial.  It also counted for my continuing Master Gardener hours and I desperately need to manage my weeds so there you go……

I go outside and it’s too windy to burn so I decide to rake up the rest of the weeds.  Hurray, I am finished raking.  My idea of weed management today was to get a pitchfork and throw them over the corral fence and let the wind herd them into piles.  It you throw them at just the right time those bursts of wind do a  mighty fine job.  There are some against the north fence that are too far away to really drag over to the corral so I’ll have to do one burn over on the north side.

After getting the weeds raked up I wander around and the tulips are starting to form heads.  Hurray.  There should be flowers next week.

Hey, the wind has died down.  I get the barrel going and I burn a whole bunch more.  I’m not quite finished but one more burn should do it.  Here’s hoping next time I’m here the wind will cooperate.

It was a quick time here since I took one day to go to class so we’ll see what next week brings.  My friend gave me an idea.  She ordered some wattles to direct the flow of water on her land in Grand Junction.  I got the brilliant idea I could use the same thing for raised beds.  I am starting my search for wattles.  I think they would make great raised bed walls.

We’ll see what next week brings!!

About pbodwell

Master Gardener; Nat'l Award Winning Photographer; Garden Writer; Artist - art books, print maker, hot glass, wire jewelry designer; sometime quilter; new homesteader; bee keeper; very crafty; Baseball fan, enthusiast, and researcher; all things vintage
This entry was posted in DIY old house and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s all about the weeds

  1. Betsy Hawkins says:

    OK, what’s a waddle? LOL

  2. Larry Ehemann says:

    It is to bad you can’t make your own wattles out of all those weeds!!!

  3. enjoy your blog Patty…

Leave a Reply

