What is normal?

cropped-img_3833-7.jpg

Hurray, it will be a normal weekend.  I get off work and head up to the homestead.  The sky is clear and there is a beautiful silhouette of the mountains as I head up north.  As I round the bend the moon is big, orange and just coming up over the horizon.  WOW!!

When I get to the homestead I am tired.  This is the first 2 days off in three weeks I think so I’m ready to relax.  The new coffee shop at the library is all set up after many hours of schlepping, sorting, organizing and ordering.  Our first week was a great success and it’s time for some downtime.

I realize when I get here I haven’t posted for almost a month.  One of the weeks there was so much snow I didn’t travel up.  Two weeks I didn’t have two days off so I bopped up here to check and make sure the water pipes hadn’t frozen again (see previous blog) and nothing significant happened.

Last I was here  rounded up some weeds.  I have a burn barrel but I need to put a screen on top .  I don’t want to go 30 miles from anywhere to get some screen so I dig around the shed and I have some window screen.  I have some fencing so I snip a long piece of metal from the fencing and form a circle.  I clip off some more wire from the fencing and I take the screen and wire it to the hoop I’ve made.  It fits over the top of the barrel for those just in case moments when hot embers want to fly.  It’ not pretty but it works.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m not too worried about the tumbleweeds as they flash burn.  The minutes a flame hits them they are gone but I’m ready just in case.  It’s a nice calm day with no wind so I get to it.  No one ever drives down the road but one car goes by and then a second car gets to my house and then turns around.  I guess they’re just making sure the town isn’t burning.   Hey, that crazy lady has a firing burning!!

That’s done so time to hit the road and head on back.  There are more weeds waiting on the other side to be burned.  But that will be for another time. Those crazy disc things in the yard will be made into planters.  I’m going to paint them and use them for flower beds.

IMG_4227-1

I’m showing all the ugly pictures now so you can ooo and ahhh when it looks different.

That’s all for now!!

 

About pbodwell

Master Gardener; Nat'l Award Winning Photographer; Garden Writer; Artist - art books, print maker, hot glass, wire jewelry designer; sometime quilter; new homesteader; bee keeper; very crafty; Baseball fan, enthusiast, and researcher; all things vintage
This entry was posted in DIY old house and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is normal?

  1. Betsy says:

    Loving your blogs, and of course, LOVE that house!!!

  2. acroteria says:

    Happy 1st Blogiversary! (I’m going to coin a better word).

  3. I hope your screen is metal and not just some synthetic fiber that will catch fire.

Leave a Reply

