I’m on a roll

new

new

Wow, we’ve been having really nice weather.  I head on up to the homestead.  There is a nice sunset on the way up.  By the time I get close it’s dark and the big bad trucks are still on the road so I head up to 74 instead of taking 392.  It’s less traveled and straight.  392 has a couple of big curves and it’s not fun to go around them when a semi is on the other side.

I’m anxious to get up there and do some more painting.  It felt good to get that dining room finished and now I will attack the middle wall that goes down the hall.  It’s too late to start painting tonight and there is a book to be read somewhere so I take it easy.

I get up in the morning ready to get to it.  I start doing the edging.  There are some shelves and an island with some shelves and I don’t want to do a lot of taping so I take my time.  I’ve got another audio book to entertain me while I paint.  Uggg, there is a lot of edging with all the shelves.  What I think will take me a couple of hours takes me about 5 hours.  Well, that was more than I thought.  Now I’m ready to use the roller.  A half hour later the walls are finished.  I wish all the prep work went as quickly as the rest.  Too late to start on the trim and I need to eat something decent so I knock off for the evening.

I decide there’s just enough light left to go down in the cellar and check on the heater.  It’s so nice outside I at least need to stick my head out and enjoy a few minutes of it.  It is in the 70’s today.  Everything looks ok down in the cellar.  The heater is working well.  There is a cat down there.  Grrrr, I wish they would stay out of the cellar.  I try to coax it out and it turns and goes further under the house.  NOOOO!!!  I don’t want them getting stuck under there.  I’m sure there is already something dead under there.  In the kitchen I get a whiff of something.  I’m pretty sure it smells like death.  Just another thing to put on my list.  There’s really no way to even see under there so I guess I have to wait it out if there is something under there.  The door is torn off from the board again so I get the screwdriver and fix it again.  I get it on better this time and put another screw in the hinge so hopefully it will hold.  I cover up the door with the plastic again to keep the air out and give the cat enough room to get out.

In the morning I’m up and at it again early.  Oh my gosh, so many shelves and so much trim.  It takes me another 6 hours to finish.  Looks good though.  Yay, I now have this side of the house finished.  I really should have taped along the baseboard.  I need to get a small brush and fix a few spots that I overlapped.  I know when I put books on the shelves or furniture around it won’t matter but it bothers me it’s not as straight as it could be.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There is an awful mosaic they have done on the counter.  There is no way to redeem it.  It is butt ugly.  It’s not good mosaic and it doesn’t in any way go with the house.  I need to figure out a way to cover it.  I’m thinking of just making another counter over it or something.  I don’t want to go to the trouble of digging it out.  At least now right now.  There are some things when I see them I think, “gives it character”.  That takes care of a lot of things but this just has no character to it at all.  If anyone has any ideas let me know.

That’s all for this weekend.  Paint, paint, paint.

I clean up and head back down.

About pbodwell

Master Gardener; Nat'l Award Winning Photographer; Garden Writer; Artist - art books, print maker, hot glass, wire jewelry designer; sometime quilter; new homesteader; bee keeper; very crafty; Baseball fan, enthusiast, and researcher; all things vintage
This entry was posted in DIY old house, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m on a roll

  1. pbodwell says:

    Thanks Kathy for a great idea to cover that ugly mosaic. I’m going to do some research and see what happens!! I’ll reveal it if it works.

  2. acroteria says:

    The shelves look much nicer. The mosaic suggests one of several Islamic state flags. On an episode of Rehab Addict, Nicole Curtis primes and paints intermittent blue tiles to black on a bathroom floor. Maybe the design can be camouflaged with a different paint scheme?

  3. pbodwell says:

    Thanks for the suggestion. Two artists used to live in the house and did some funky art stuff the mosaic being one of them. It’s very 80’s.

Leave a Reply

